Quick Q&A with Allison Reade

IMG_0458
Allison Reade, 19, wearing some of her favorite beauty trends: big lashes and bold, maroon lips.

Allison Reade is a 19-year-old makeup guru from Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida, currently studying vocal performance at the University of Florida. While she’s pursuing her passion for singing in school, she also has a real fascination and talent for makeup. She has done the makeup of countless of her friends and sorority sisters and I was lucky enough to have her do my own makeup for one of my date functions this semester! I sat down with Allison to do a quick Q&A and here’s what she had to say:

Q: How did you get into makeup and how did you become so familiar with using it?

A: I started doing makeup for fun because I’m a perfectionist! For years I’ve been doing makeup for my friends when they’ve had dances or events, which has helped me become really familiar with using it. I’ve also learned some things just from watching other beauty bloggers on YouTube.

Q: What do you enjoy the most about makeup?

A: I think the best thing about makeup is that it makes people feel beautiful and confident. People may think that makeup is something girls put on just to impress the guys, but I like to do it for me. It gives me the little extra-confidence boost I need every now and then.

Q: Where is your favorite place to get your makeup?

A: My favorite place to get my makeup is actually Walgreens. The cheap products work just as well if not better than the expensive, more high-quality products you find at Sephora or department stores. The Nudes Palette by Maybelline is one of my favorite eyeshadow palettes, and it can be found in basically any drugstore and for not too much money.

Q: What are your top 3 essential makeup products that you couldn’t live without?

A: I definitely couldn’t live without my bronzer, mascara and lip balm. If I don’t have too much time in the morning, they are my go-to products. Bronzer gives you that extra “sun-kissed” look and I think the mascara enhances your eyes and makes you look more awake and put-together. The products together kind of give people the illusion that you’re wearing more than you actually are.

Q: What products do you recommend using to keep your makeup in tact in the Florida humidity?

A: Powder is key to keeping your makeup set, especially when it’s really hot out. It helps prevent your skin from getting too shiny by giving it a matte-finish look. It also is helpful in keeping your foundation and concealer in place!

Q: Do you have some “beauty secrets” that you can give to others?

A: I always tell people to use a light coat of lotion before bed and before putting on foundation, to keep your skin moisturized. Moisturized skin is important even in the humidity because it keeps your skin hydrated and healthy. Also, I think that using a lash curler is a key to maximizing the length of your lashes!

Q: Do you have a favorite beauty blogger/youtuber?

A: My favorite YouTuber is probably Huda Beauty (a Beauty Blog that focuses on the latest Beauty Hacks, DIY’s and Makeup Tutorials). She experiments with a lot of different types of looks and trends that I’m also into. She also has a great personality and is fun to watch!

Q: Have you ever thought about becoming a beauty blogger or starting a YouTube channel?

A: Yes, I’ve definitely thought about starting a blog! I’m not really sure of all the logistics about it, but I think it would be a really fun experience to share what I’ve already learned about makeup with other people and give them tips I’ve come up with over the years. It would also be fun to interact with other people with the same interests and learn more about beauty and makeup from them.

IMG_0431
Allison also wears another one of her favorite looks: thick, winged eye-liner.

Have an event or date function coming up? Schedule an appointment with Allison! She’s just as good (if not better than) some of the makeup artists at M.A.C or Sephora, and she does it for under $15! (Message me through the Contact page for Allison’s contact information.) 

 

Leave a Reply

