Spring Break Beauty Essentials

Ah. Spring Break. A time where most southern-school students flock to the warm Florida beaches and Florida college students head off on a cruise to Mexico or the nearby islands of the Bahamas.

Ever since I was young, I’ve had the privilege to travel to many different places around the world. I have a lot of experience with packing, so when it comes to vacations, I already have a list set in my mind of everything I need to bring with me.  

Being a sophomore, I’ve now experienced two spring break extravaganzas. Both times, I’ve spent my week of freedom on the beautiful islands of the Bahamas. In order to get there we had to travel via the ferry, which allowed us all to bring only one small bag on board along with a small suitcase. For me that meant I had to squeeze over a weeks worth of belongings into a carry-on sized bag.

While ideally I would’ve liked to bring my entire closet for maximum styling options, the restrictions also made me pick out the true essentials that I could not go on the trip without. Yes, outfits are important, but so are your beauty supplies! Especially if you’re at the beach, you’ll probably be spending the majority of the week in bikinis and jean shorts which means a lot of your body will be very exposed to the powerful UV sun rays. Nobody wants their week ruined by a nasty sunburn or painfully chapped lips.

The following products will help to keep your skin protected while still getting that sun-kissed glow.

In addition to having your humidity hair taming products on hand, you want to stock up on anything and everything SUN PROTECTION.

First and most importantly: sunscreen. Since I have very sensitive and break-out prone skin, Neutrogena Clear Face Liquid Lotion Sunscreen is my go-to face product. It’s lightweight and break-out free, which makes it the perfect face priming product for a day out in the sun. As I’m sure you are all aware of the countless varieties of sunscreen, everyone probably has their own favorite brand. Mine happens to be the Hawaiian Tropic Island Sport Clear Spray Sunscreen. Not only is it lightweight unlike many lotion sunscreens, but it’s also water and sweat resistant. Sunscreen only lasts about 80 minutes, so make sure you re-apply the products throughout the day!

IMG_7419
Left to right: Neutrogena Clear Face Liquid Lotion Sunscreen ($8.99 at Target), Hawaiian Tropic Island Sport Clear Spray Sunscreen ($10.99 at Walgreens). Photo by Haley Fretes

While my skin is naturally dark, tanning oil is an essential product for many people looking to achieve that caramelized skin tone. The majority of my friends’ favorite brand is the Hawaiian Tropic Dark Tanning Oil. The formula is moisturizing, successful and even has a fresh coconut scent. It’s important to remember that tanning oil should not be a complete substitute for sunscreen, so be careful when using it!

Last but not least on my essential items list is chapstick. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve ended up with sun-burnt, chapped lips and been absolutely miserable. That’s why I never leave my room without my Nivea A Kiss of Protection Sun Protection Lip Care in SPF 30. It has protection from both UVA and UVB rays and moisturizes your lips perfectly.

Next time you’re heading on a tropical getaway, make sure you have all these items on hand so you come back relaxed, un-burnt, and bronzed!

Leave a Reply

